Brooklyn Babylon


Sept. 4, 2015
Center for the Arts at Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Virginia

  Nov. 13, 2015
Krannert Center for the Performing Arts
Urbana, Illinois

PAST DATES: June 24, 2013
Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ
Holland Festival

9-12 November 2011
BAM Harvey Theater
Brooklyn, NY

22 October 2011
The Performing Arts Center
Purchase College, NY

    — Nate Chinen, New York Times

Acclaimed composer Darcy James Argue brings his uniquely genre-blurring aesthetic to Brooklyn Babylon's
hour-long score. Performed live by his 18-piece bigband, Secret Society, Argue creates an immersive sonic landscape
that seamlessly weaves together the strands of Brooklyn's musical tapestry. Drawing on everything from brass bands,
dance-punk grooves, and Victorian steam-driven calliopes, Argue's music pulses with the sound of Brooklyn.

The complete music from Brooklyn Babylon is available now from iTunes, Amazon, and Bandcamp.

The Neighborhood

SOLO: John Ellis, tenor saxophone


 SOLOS: Ingrid Jensen, trumpet & electronics • Sam Sadigursky, clarinet

Coney Island

 SOLOS: Rob Wilkerson, alto saxophone • Sebastian Noelle, electric guitar


Erica von Kleist — piccolo, flute, alto flute, alto sax, soprano sax
Rob Wilkerson — flute, clarinet, soprano sax, alto sax
Sam Sadigursky — clarinet, tenor sax
John Ellis — clarinet, bass clarinet, tenor sax
Josh Sinton — clarinet, bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet, baritone sax

Seneca Black — trumpet, fluegelhorn
Tom Goehring — trumpet, fluegelhorn
Matt Holman — trumpet, fluegelhorn
Nadje Noordhuis — trumpet, fluegelhorn
Ingrid Jensen — trumpet, fluegelhorn

Mike Fahie — trombone, euphonium
Ryan Keberle — trombone
James Hirschfeld — trombone, tuba
Jennifer Wharton — bass trombone, tuba

Sebastian Noelle — acoustic guitar, electric guitar
Gordon Webster — piano, electric piano, melodica
Matt Clohesy — contrabass, electric bass
Jon Wikan — drum set, tapan, cajón